First Day of Classes

    Guidance

    Trinity Christian Academy’s Guidance Department services students in the 7th-12th grade. The services include but are not limited to the following:

    School Counseling is provided to assist students in 7th-12th grade in taking the most challenging curriculum while at TCA for college preparedness.

    College Counseling is introduced at the 9th grade level with grade level classroom meetings and parent seminars. The 9th-11th grade students take the PSAT (preliminary SAT) and the 9th and 10th grade students take the PLAN (preliminary ACT) with score back seminars for the students and their parents in January. All 11th and 12th grade students are expected to take the SAT and/or ACT to help with advisement about college choices, scholarship opportunities, and sports eligibility at the college level.

    Opportunities are provided for 11th–12th grade students to meet with visiting college representatives, attend our annual on-site college fair (10th grade students also attend), attend a summer “College Prep Camp” (for rising seniors), and attend two comprehensive financial aid and college admissions seminars in September and February each year (seniors attend with their parents).

    Acceleration Programs are provided for qualifying 11th-12th grade students through the Dual Enrollment and Early Admissions program at Florida State College at Jacksonville and Trinity Baptist College. Currently, approximately 15% (Class of 2012) of our senior class graduate with their AA college degrees prior to graduation from TCA.

    Career Counseling begins in the 8th grade with a nine week module on Career Research. Additional career guidance is provided through the free ASVAB (Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery) test for juniors, the PLAN test results for 9th-10th graders, and a Career Day offered every other year for 10th-12th grade students.

    Our Website guidance pages provide links to additional information regarding the college admissions process, scholarship searches, financial aid for college, academic testing and summer programs.

    Behavioral, emotional and spiritual counseling is provided by counselors especially trained in psychological counseling for students needing this service.

    Academic and College Counseling Staff
    Wanda Denton, Academic Director for 10th-12th (904-596-2505 or wdenton@tbc.edu)
    Karen Belk, Academic Director for 7th -9th (904-596-2502 or kbelk@tbc.edu)
    Berta Baacke, Records Clerk for 7th-12th (904-596-2500 or bbaacke@tbc.edu)
    Jane Deig, Academic Guidance Secretary (904-596-2480 or jdeig@tbc.edu)

    Behavioral & Emotional Counseling Staff
    James Buckner (Males) (904-596-2403 or jbuckner@tbc.edu)
    Carol Buckner (Females) (904-596-2491 or cbuckner@tbc.edu)